Hong Kong International Dragon Boat Races kicks off Summer in Hong Kong

Hong Kong

IBNS: Organised by the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB) in conjunction with the Hong Kong China Dragon Boat Association (HKCDBA), “the International Dragon Boat Races” will kick off the summer with an eventful season of boating on 24 – 25 June (Sat & Sun) after four years. 

With over 160 teams of about 4,000 dragon boat athletes participating in the events in Victoria Harbour, local spectators and visitors will be able to enjoy the thrills of Harbour events on the Tsim Sha Tsui East Promenade in Hong Kong.

Dane Cheng, HKTB Executive Director, said, “The International Dragon Boat Races’ is the HKTB’s first international sports event since travel resumed in Hong Kong. It is a great pleasure to have the best dragon boat teams from around the world join us this year, and we are delighted to invite the teams from the nine cities in the Greater Bay Area (GBA), Macao, and Hong Kong to compete in the ‘Greater Bay Area Championship’. It is also the first time that the ‘Hong Kong-Macao Trophy’ will be introduced in collaboration with Macao.”

To encourage teams from around the world to participate, cash prizes will be given to the winning teams in five major races.

Arnold Chung, Secretary General of the HKCDBA, said, “The Hong Kong International Dragon Boat Races’ is the world’s most historical dragon boat competition, attracting strong teams from all over the world, and I believe the races in Victoria Harbour will be sensational.  HKCDBA has long strived to make the sports of dragon boat popular and will continue to promote the heritage and culture of the Dragon Boat Festival and the festivities to the local public as well as visitors.”

“The Hong Kong International Dragon Boat Races” continues to be an “M” Mark event by the Major Sports Events Committee (https://www.mevents.org.hk/en/about.php), signifying the event’s status as a major event of international importance in the sporting world.

Over 160 teams from 10 countries and regions, including first-timer Poland, as well as teams from Australia, Dubai, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines, the Mainland, Macao, and Hong Kong.

Text: Shikha Mishra