Centre announces Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar, new National Awards for Science, Technology & Innovation

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar. Photo courtesy: Wallpaper Cave


New Delhi/IBNS: The Centre has announced a new set of National Awards in the field of Science, Technology and Innovation known as “Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar’’.

“The objective of the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP) is to recognize the notable and inspiring contribution made by the scientists, technologists, and innovators individually or in teams in various fields of science, technology and technology­ led innovation,” the Ministry of Science and Technology said in a statement on Thursday.

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar will be one of the highest recognitions in the field of science, technology, and innovation in India.

Scientists/ technologists/innovators working in government, private sector organizations or any individual working outside any organization, who have made distinguished contributions in terms of path-breaking research or innovation or discovery in any field of science, technology, or technology-led innovation shall be eligible for the awards.

People of Indian Origin staying abroad with exceptional contributions benefiting the Indian communities or society will also be eligible for the awards.

The awards shall be given in the following four categories:

Vigyan Ratna (VR) award will recognize lifetime achievements & contributions made in any field of science and technology.

Vigyan Shri (VS) award will recognize distinguished contributions in any field of science and technology.

Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) award will recognize & encourage young scientists up to the age of 45 years who made an exceptional contribution in any field of science and technology.

Vigyan Team (VT) award to be given to a team comprising of three or more scientists/researchers/innovators who have made an exceptional contribution working in a team in any field of science and technology.

Scientists, technologists, and innovators working in any field of science in government or private organizations who have contributed or carried out path-breaking research, technology-led innovation, or discovery in any field of science or development of innovative technologies/products having significant societal impact shall be eligible for the award.

Scientists, technologists, and innovators of Indian origin abroad with exceptional contributions benefitting the Indian communities or society at large shall also be eligible.

The Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar will be given in 13 domains, namely Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others.

The representation from each domain/field, including gender parity, will be ensured.

All nominations received for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards will be placed before the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC) to be headed by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India and comprising Secretaries of Science Departments, members of Science and Engineering Academies and some distinguished scientists and technologists from different fields of science and technology.

The nominations for this bouquet of awards will be invited every year on 14th January which would remain open till 28th February (National Science Day) every year, the Ministry said.

These awards will be announced on 11th May (National Technology Day) every year.

The Award Ceremony for all categories of awards will be held on 23rd August (National Space Day). All awards will have a ‘Sanad’ and a medal.

“These new National Awards are a transformative step in recognizing achievements of the Scientific community at the highest level by the Government of India. With transparency and fairness in the entire selection process, work done by all sections of Scientific Innovators and Technologists will be awarded providing at par status with other National Awards,” said the statement.