Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau unveils a new cabinet, drops 7 ministers

Image: Justin Trudeau. Image credit: Wallpaper cave

#Canada; #CanadaCabinetShuffle; #JustinTrudeau

Toronto/IBNS: Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau today reportedly unveiled a new cabinet team during a ceremony at Rideau Hall with a renewed focus on economic priorities, like housing bringing in several new faces and giving a handful of ministers with new roles.

Bill Blair, a former police chief who was most recently the minister of emergency preparedness, will take over the defence portfolio from Anita Anand, who becomes president of the Treasury Board.

Blair becomes the country’s point person at NATO and will be responsible for Canada’s response to the war in Ukraine.

Dominic LeBlanc will now lead public safety, an often-challenging portfolio that includes the Canadian Security Intelligence Service and the RCMP and also takes on the democratic institutions file and will continue to serve as intergovernmental affairs minister.

Seven new MPs received a promotion to cabinet:

Toronto MP Arif Virani, who represents Parkdale—High Park, becomes minister of justice and attorney general of Canada
Quebec MP Soraya Martinez Ferrada, who represents the riding of Hochelaga, becomes the minister of tourism and minister responsible for the Economic Development Agency of Canada for Quebec Regions.
Gary Anandasangaree, who represents Scarborough—Rouge Park, becomes minister of Crown-Indigenous relations
B.C. MP Terry Beech of Burnaby North—Seymour becomes minister of citizens’ services
Toronto-area MP Ya’ara Saks, who represents York Centre, becomes minister of mental health and addictions and associate minister of health
Ottawa-area MP Jenna Sudds, who represents, Kanata—Carleton, becomes minister of families, children and social development
Mississauga—Streetsville MP Rechie Valdez becomes Minister of Small Business

Multiple current ministers change positions or add to their portfolios:

Pablo Rodriguez becomes transport minister
Pascale St-Onge becomes minister of Canadian heritage
Mark Holland becomes minister of health
Minister Sean Fraser becomes minister of housing, infrastructure and communities
Lawrence MacAulay becomes minister of agriculture
Jean-Yves Duclos becomes minister of public services and procurement
Marie-Claude Bibeau becomes minister of national revenue
Gudie Hutchings becomes minister of rural economic development and minister responsible for the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Diane Lebouthillier becomes minister of fisheries, oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
Harjit Sajjan becomes president of the Privy Council and minister of emergency preparedness
Carla Qualtrough becomes minister of sport and physical activity
Karina Gould becomes government House leader
Ahmed Hussen becomes minister of international development
Seamus O’Regan becomes minister of labour and seniors
Ginette Petitpas Taylor becomes minister of veterans affairs
Mary Ng becomes minister of export promotion, international trade and economic development
Jonathan Wilkinson becomes minister of energy and natural resources
Marc Miller becomes minister of immigration, refugees and citizenship
Randy Boissonnault becomes minister of employment workforce development and official languages
Diversity, Inclusion and Persons with Disabilities Kamal Khera becomes minister of diversity, inclusion and persons with disabilities.

Some ministers kept their portfolios:

Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland
Foreign Affairs Minister Mélanie Joly
Environment and Climate Change Minister Steven Guilbeault
Innovation, Science and Industry Minister François-Philippe Champagne
Indigenous Services Minister Patty Hajdu
Minister responsible for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario Filomena Tassi
Northern Affairs Minister Dan Vandal
Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Youth Marci Ien

Seven ministers were dropped from cabinet

Former Public Safety minister, Marco Mendicino
Former justice minister David Lametti
Former public services and procurement minister Helena Jaczek
Former transport minister Omar Alghabra
Former mental health and addictions minister Carolyn Bennett
Former fisheries minister Joyce Murray
Former president of the Treasury Board Mona Fortier.