USA reach T20 World Cup Super 8 stage after washout of Ireland clash, Pakistan eliminated

USA. Photo Courtesy: ICC X page

#USA, #Super8, #India, #Pakistan, #Ireland, #T20WorldCup

IBNS-CMEDIA: The United States cricket team created history in 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup by securing a place in the Super 8 stage after the match against Ireland was abandoned following heavy rains.

The abandonment of the match also ensured Pakistan was eliminated from the first stage of the tournament, shattering the hearts of fans.

Also Read:New York’s T20 World Cup Venue that hosted India vs Pak match to be dismantled

India (Group A), Australia (Group B), Afghanistan (Group C), West Indies (Group C), South Africa (Group D) and USA (Group A) are the six teams who have qualified for the Super Eight thus far.

India, Australia, and Afghanistan will feature in Group 1 of the next round, whereas West Indies, South Africa and USA will feature in Group 2, read the ICC website.

All of these sides bar USA have been unbeaten in their respective groups, and are shaping well ahead of the next round, with the co-hosts achieving history by beating Canada and Pakistan to seal their spot in the Super Eight stage.

The Super Eight stage commences in Antigua on June 19.

Fixtures (as per local time)

19 June: USA v South Africa, North Sound, Antigua

19 June: B1 v West Indies, Gros Islet, St Lucia

20 June: Afghanistan v India, Bridgetown, Barbados

20 June: Australia v D2, North Sound, Antigua

21 June: B1 v South Africa, Gros Islet, St Lucia

21 June: USA v West Indies, Bridgetown, Barbados

22 June: India v D2, North Sound, Antigua

22 June: Afghanistan v Australia, Arnos Vale, St Vincent

23 June: USA v B1, Bridgetown, Barbados

23 June: West Indies v South Africa, North Sound, Antigua

24 June: Australia v India, Gros Islet, St Lucia

24 June: Afghanistan v D2, Arnos Vale, St Vincent