Ontario expands Strong Mayor Powers for Mayors in 26 municipalities

Strong Mayor Powers. Image credit Twitter @fordnation

Toronto/CMEDIA: Ontario is expanding Strong Mayor Powers to Mayors in 26 municipalities, a news release has said.

These strong mayor powers enable heads of council to speed up the delivery of key shared municipal-provincial priorities such as housing, transit and infrastructure in their municipalities.

While Toronto and Ottawa were granted strong mayor powers effective Fall of 2022, expansion of strong mayor powers to  26 large and fast-growing municipalities would be effective on July 1, 2023.

The 26 designated municipalities which have submitted a housing pledge to the province include Ajax, Barrie, Brampton, Brantford, Burlington, Caledon, Cambridge, Clarington, Guelph, Hamilton, Kingston, Kitchener, London, Markham, Milton. Mississauga, Niagara Falls, Oakville, Oshawa, Pickering, Richmond Hill, St. Catharines, Vaughan, Waterloo, Whitby and Windsor.

In addition to the 28 municipalities that have committed to their housing pledges, Ontario has recognized a need for more homes across the province and is welcoming housing pledges from other municipalities to get 1.5 million homes built by 2031.

#Ontario; #StrongMayorPowers; #26 Municipalities