Hot Docs 2024 Festival to honor Canadian Cinematographer Iris Ng in Focus On Program

Iris Ng. Image credit: hotDocs

Canadian cinematographer Iris Ng would reportedly be honored by Hot Docs Festival 2024 through its annual Focus On program.

Spotlighting the remarkable work of Canadian filmmakers and craftspeople who have left an indelible mark on the documentary landscape, the annual Focus On program would also showcase their invaluable contributions to the art form.

Ng’s notable work follows the process of filmmaking itself by turning a critical lens on social justice, and  marginalised communities. 

Her body of work includes the Oscar-shortlist documentaries Stories We Tell (D: Sarah Polley | 2012) and Shirkers (D: Sandi Tan | 2018), as well as the award-winning films One Of Ours (D: Yasmine Mathurin | 2021), Toxic Beauty (D: Phyllis Ellis | 2019), Migrant Dreams (D: Min Sook Lee | 2017), short film This River (D: Erika MacPherson, Katherena Vermette | 2017) and Primetime Emmy Award-winning series Making A Murderer (2015, 2018).

Having collaborated with acclaimed filmmakers, including Fredrik Gertten, Vikram Jayanti, Richard Fung, Jennifer Holness, Alexis Bloom, Michelle Sheppard, Ann Shin, Tiffany Hsiung, and Rama Ra, Ng has also worked on films for artists Chris Curreri, Oliver Husain, Luis Jacob, and Bambitchell.

Ng shared more recently, a credit on the Hot Docs Festival 2023 Opening Night film Twice Colonized (D: Lin Alluna | 2023) and shot Netflix/Jigsaw Productions’ Money Shot: The PornHub Story (D: Suzanne Hillinger | 2023). 

Having lensed two seasons of the CBC primetime scripted series Strays, the cameo-packed web series Hey Lady! and numerous short films, she also balances her work with scripted web series and shows, 

Past Focus On honourees include Elizabeth Klinck (2023), Raymonde Provencher (2022), Julia Ivanova (2019), John Walker (2018), Maya Gallus (2017), Rosie Dransfeld (2016), Carole Laganière (2015), John Zaritsky (2014), Peter Mettler (2013), John Kastner (2012), Alan Zweig (2011), Tahani Rached (2010), Ron Mann (2009), Jennifer Baichwal (2008), Kevin McMahon (2007), Serge Giguère (2006), Larry Weinstein (2005), Nettie Wild (2004), Shelley Saywell (2003) and Zacharias Kunuk (2002).

Hot Docs Festival will run through April 25, 2024 to May 5, 2024.